The next book

The Inheritance has only been out a couple of weeks but I’m already looking to the future. On this blog I’ve mentioned the title of my next book, The Leviticus Enforcer, but haven’t said much else about it. First, I’m a little leery about discussing my stories while I’m writing them. The only person I can discuss them with during the writing process is my wife, Angela. That actually seems to help as I sometimes have my best ideas when I’m describing a scene or plot point to her. She also has some pretty good ideas when I tell her stuff.

In the case of The Leviticus Enforcer, I have another reason. The subject matter is, shall we say, a little controversial? Oh, who am I kidding, it is very controversial. I may well honk off a lot of people across the social issue spectrum with this one (though I hope I don’t).

Since I’ve finished the first draft of the new book I feel fairly confident about revealing the concept. It’s November in my fictional city of Port Mason. A ballot measure to pass a ‘defense of marriage’ constitutional amendment has just been defeated. That very night, two gay couples are murdered in their beds. On the wall, painted in blood, is the scriptural reference ‘Leviticus 20:13,’ which reads “’If a man has sexual relations with a man as one does with a woman, both of them have done what it detestable. They are to be put to death; their blood will be on their own heads.’” The next night, two more gay couples are murdered in the exact same fashion.

The Leviticus Enforcer follows private investigator Steve Bennett, newspaper reporter Amanda Clark, and police detective Shelley Wheeler as they are drawn into the case. More will die and the city will threaten to tear itself apart unless the killer, known only as ‘The Servant,’ is found.

Well, that’s the idea. What do you think? Post here on the blog or on my Facebook page and let me know!

Leave a Reply

